Fiction  > Speculative & Science Fiction  > Other by A to Z  > G - R

Motor Crush vol 1 s/c


Motor Crush vol 1 s/c Motor Crush vol 1 s/c Motor Crush vol 1 s/c

Motor Crush vol 1 s/c back

Brenden Fletcher & Babs Tarr, Cameron Stewart

Price: 
8.99

Page 45 Review by Jonathan

Semi-serious sci-fi speed-themed malarkey set in a near-future world of illegal street racing, where a machine-stimulant drug known as the Crush is used to illicitly overclock bike engines, as well as her own metabolism in the case of our main protagonist, Domino Swift, who is most certainly a lady in a rush. Usually headlong over the proverbial handlebars into the next sticky situation, entirely fuelled by her own questionable life choices...

But she's just one of those people who are always convinced they can rectify the situation, with yet another disastrous decision, of course. Her friends and family try their best to steer her in a different direction, rather than careening into the crash barriers of life yet again, but some people are just too stubborn to listen.

Now she's racing for her liberty in the toughest race of them all, the Cannonball, though that's seemingly the least of her problems, with the mysterious all-in-black racer trying to up the stakes even further. Throw in a life-long addiction to Crush - not her fault, I'll give her that, as I really do mean life-long - and a weird upside floating pyramid firing laser beams that just appears out of nowhere at the most inconvenient moments, and no, there's never a dull moment, or indeed any down time at all for Domino. Concluding this volume with an ending even more totally hat-stand bonkers than the rest of the book, I felt equally out of breath myself!

This is absolutely frenetic, frantic fun from the trio that did a pretty decent New 52 run on BATGIRL. Probably one for fans of SLAM and LUMBERJANES, and actually also SCOTT PILGRIM, it's an impressively stylish, well designed and also astonishingly extensive continuity they've created in the space of a mere five issues.

I particularly enjoyed the vibrant artwork, with the humid, neon-lit, palm-tree-lined streets of Nova Honda echoing to the roaring sounds of epic bike races replete with swerving light trails. Plus the extensive use of faux letratone, which just adds a lovely little element of textural depth to proceedings throughout. I'm definitely not the target audience for this work, but I really rather enjoyed it.

spacer